Apricot Delights

Whoever said a girl can’t have it all needs to rethink that quote.

Winter and I have a love/hate relationship.

I love wearing my daggy soft dressing gown whilst sipping on a hot cup of organic cacao. I enjoy the sound of the rain hitting the roof at night and I find comfort in sleeping with my doona pulled up to my neck.
I don’t like fighting with myself to get out of my PJ’s in the morning and being cold whilst changing. I don’t enjoy having to leave the house when it’s raining and I don’t find it comforting having wet socks from the rain.

Unfortunately I can’t control the seasonal changes but I did use it to my advantage yesterday.
Although it was extremely chilly outside there also wasn’t a cloud in sight.

I was living proof that you really can have it all. In my old soft dressing gown, slippers and drinking hot cacao in the sun. This time I have won!

Apart from being in my dressing gown it felt like summer and reminded me of all the summer fruits and raw foods that I tend to eat more often in summer and it inspired me to make something fruity & summery to eat for a snack to lighten up my day but keeping in mind it still needs to be comforting because it is winter after all.

These little delights were delicious and exactly what I was craving.

Apart from being healthy, natural and tasty they are extremely easy to make.

Apricot Delights

Ingredients

Makes 15 balls

  • 1 1/3 cup raw cashew nuts (soaked for 3-4 hours)
  • 1 cup dried apricots (soaked for 1 hour)
  • 1/3 cup desiccated coconut
  1. Process cashews until they are finely cut and transfer into a mixing bowl (make sure you don’t process into a butter)
  2. Process apricots until it is finely cut and transfer into the mixing bowl with the nuts
  3. With a spoon mix cashew’s and apricots together evenly
  4. Using a desert/teaspoon, scoop out mixture and form into round balls
  5. Lightly roll each ball in coconut and place in an air tight container
  6. Store in refrigerator

Thanks for your comments on the importance of connecting. Taking a minimum of 30 minutes a day to relax without any interruptions or guilt will really benefit you. I’d love to know how you’re progressing with the practice.

Lisa

1 Comment

Filed under Snacks

One response to “Apricot Delights

Leave a Reply

