Sweet & Salty Tempeh Salad

I have been making this salad on a regular basis for months now and I still can’t seem to get enough.

I mentioned in a previous post that I love to add colour to all of my meals to ensure I get a whole range of nutrients and variety out of each meal and this dish packs both!

One of the many things I love about this salad is that it is packed with raw veggies but it also brings a warm winter comfort to the dish by adding the tempeh and baked pumpkin.

This salad covers a crowd pleasing flavour combination; sweet + salty.

You get the sweetness from the fresh sweet corn & pumpkin with the saltiness of the tempeh.

I use Kent Pumpkin as it is sweet and keeps moist when baking so no oil is necessary.
Kent pumpkin is also known as a Jap pumpkin, it has ribbed green-yellow mottled skin.

It would be desirable for all of your ingredients are organic but I understand this is not always an option so please thoroughly wash vegetables beforehand.

Ingredients

100 grams Organic Tempeh

¾ Cup chopped Kent Pumpkin

Handful of baby spinach

¼ Cup zucchini

¼ Cup red capsicum

¼ Cup of raw sweet corn

¼ Avocado

1 T Nutritional Yeast (optional)

½ tsp Tamari Sauce

½ tsp Balsamic vinegar

Instructions

  1. Pre heat oven to 180 degrees
  2. Cut pumpkin into small rectangular pieces, 3mm width. Bake until soft (20-30 mins)
  3. Slice tempeh 3mm thick and place in bowl
  4. Mix ½ tsp tamari sauce + ½ tsp balsamic vinegar together and coat the sliced tempeh.
  5.  Chop vegetables (minus the avocado) and place the baby spinach and vegetables onto a plate
  6. Once the pumpkin is cooked, using a non stick fry pan cook tempeh until lightly browned on both sides.
  7. Place baked pumpkin and tempeh onto the salad with avocado on top.

*Call me obsessed biased but nutritional yeast on top is a nice touch to the dish.

I’m sure you will love this dish as much as me. It’s quick, simple and full of flavour.

When I was first introduced to tempeh I wasn’t 100% sold but like the majority of the foods I eat now I have grown to love tempeh and can’t understand how I never loved it from the start.

How were you introduced to tempeh, and did you love it straight away?

1 Comment

Filed under Mains

One response to “Sweet & Salty Tempeh Salad

  1. Yummy! This sounds delicious Lisa! Can’t wait to try! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

