Comforting Chilli

After my last post Ironing Out The Inhibitors I thought today’s recipe would be a perfect opportunity to share with you one of my favourite iron rich dishes.

I sometimes get so caught up in creating new dishes that I forget about my old favourites but this one is definitely not going to be forgotten this winter!
It is such a comforting meal that bursts with flavour and everyone seems to love it just as much as I do.

It is a delicious way of getting in your iron from the beans and spinach mixed in with capsicum (vitamin C) to increase iron absorption.

Including beans into your diet has many health benefits.

Beans are an excellent source of fiber which prevents blood sugar levels from rising to rapidly after a meal.
If you have insulin resistance, hypoglycemia or diabetes, kidney beans can really help you balance blood sugar levels while providing steady, slow-burning energy.

1 cup of kidney beans provides 15.3 grams of protein so this is just another reason to love and make beans a staple in your diet.

There are so many chilli recipes out there but this is one that I made years ago and I always default back to it because it is so simple, quick and the flavours all complement each other perfectly.

Ingredients

Serves 2

1 can kidney beans
1 can diced tomatoes
½ red capsicum
1 carrot
1 cup button mushrooms
½ small brown onion
½ tsp minced garlic
¼ tsp cumin
¼ tsp cinnamon
¼ mild curry powder
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
1 tsp fresh basil
2 cups baby spinach (tightly stuffed)
Nutritional Yeast (optional)

Instructions

  1. Saute onion, garlic, carrots and capsicum in a non stick pan to soften (5-8 mins)
  2. Add the rest of the ingredients in (except baby spinach) and stir to mix in well
  3. Reduce heat to low-medium and let it simmer for 30 mins, stirring occasionally.
  4. Serve onto a bed of baby spinach leaves
  5. Sprinkle a little nutritional yeast on top if you desire.

You should probably know that I add nutrition yeast on everything! So if you aren’t a junkie to it like me please feel free to leave it out.

I hope you all love this recipe as much as I do!

Do you have a secret ingredient for your chilli recipe?

Lisa

5 Comments

Filed under Mains, Recipes

5 responses to “Comforting Chilli

  1. Looks great. Nothing like a good chili!

  2. Yum this looks like a perfect winter dish! I’m a total nutritional yeast junkie too 🙂 xx

  3. Chilli is the perfect comfort food, yum!

  4. my “secret” ingredients in chili has been a pinch of cinnamon, and a touch of honey. It never tastes right now without them.
    By the way, BIG fan of nutritional yeast – my favorite memory as a kid is our small town theatre in the ’80’s that let you bring your own snacks. Mom would pop the biggest bag of popcorn, and add nutritional yeast to it (with a bit of real butter and garlic drizzled). 🙂

    • How amazing is Cinnamon! And it is so beneficial for you 🙂
      I don’t use honey but I have sweetened it up with Stevia before which is also lovely.

      I have also heard that many people add Cacao to their Chili’s; something I may have to try 🙂

Leave a Reply

