Perfect Pumpkin Sushi

It was only about six years ago when sushi started to become popular in Australia and now it seems to be a craze similar to McDonald’s; there’s a sushi store on every corner.

Unlike McDonald’s though, I could eat sushi for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
It has become a staple in my diet as I am very time poor and health conscious, so I have figured sushi is a perfect option for me.

However, every time I finished my sushi rolls I was craving something sweet.  I was never fully satisfied until I had some fresh or dried fruit to cure my sugar craving. I always eat fruit after my meals but the difference is that I now choose it eat it, I don’t feel like I absolutely need it.

After I became aware of the hidden ingredients in sushi purchased in a store, I wasn’t surprised why I craved sugar after I ate it.

Apart from the obvious fried foods that can be added into the rolls, when the sticky rice is being boiled, sugar is added into the water so the rice is sweeter and becomes moreish, making you want more of it.
Another hidden ingredient that goes into the rice is mayonnaise. Mayonnaise is squeezed into the chef’s hands before smoothing down the rice onto the nori sheet, which contains more sugar, fat, additives and animal products.

So the once thought healthy sushi roll turn out to be a great marketing scam to make us believe we are doing ourselves a health favour, but unless you are making sushi rolls yourself, they aren’t healthy or beneficial to you at all.

So today I am sharing with you my favourite sushi recipe using raw cauliflower rice in place of the usual sticky rice so you have the added benefits of adding more raw foods into your meals and also because cauliflower is delicious, versatile and an excellent source of vitamin C, vitamin K and folate.

Ingredients

1 cup cauliflower rice

1/3 cup mashed pumpkin (cold)

¼ avocado

2 tbsp grated carrot

1-2 long strip of red capsicum

1 nori sheet

Organic Tamari sauce

Instructions
Makes 1 roll

  1. Process cauliflower in a food processor until it becomes a similar texture/size to rice.
  2. Mix mashed pumpkin into the cauliflower and set aside ready to start rolling and prepare the rest of the vegies.
  3. Place nori sheet onto the bamboo mat with smooth side facing down and smooth 1 cup of the rice mixture onto the sheet leaving a ¼ of the sheet furthest away from you without any “rice” on it as well as a small gap at the front of your sheet
  4. Press rice mixture down firmly and add the rest of the ingredients onto centre on the sheet
  5. Take the side of the mat closest you and gently roll to the edge of the “rice” and gently press roll together.
  6. Wet the a thin strip at the edge of the roll to seal together
  7. Slice sushi using a very sharp knife
  8. Dip sushi slices into tamari sauce if desired

A lot people get turned off by the thought of eating raw cauliflower so by adding pumpkin to the cauliflower “rice” it eases you into the idea of have a completely raw sushi. Also pumpkin is just so delicious why not add it into as many dishes as possible!

Question for the day:
What is the most versatile vegetable you use?

Lisa

13 Comments

Filed under Entree & Sides, Raw, Recipes

13 responses to “Perfect Pumpkin Sushi

  1. I had no idea about the hidden ingredients in sushi! The most upsetting thing for me is the mayonnaise. I’m vegan and the thought of even a small bit of mayonnaise on what I eat is really offensive. From now on I will either make my own or check on how it is made. Your recipe looks wonderful. Pumpkin is also a great ingredient in vegan cheese sauces.

  2. Pumpkin sushi is such a fabulous idea- love it!

  3. This is such an incredibly creative idea! I just pinned it to my pinterest board so that I will try it out later! 🙂

  4. Yum this looks delicious. Kale is probably the most versatile veggie I use 🙂 xx

  5. This looks delicious… I love making raw sushi with cauli rice, adding pumpkin is such a groovy idea I will have to try it next time. Come to think of it, it’s been too long since I’ve made some healthy sushi goodness!

    I used to eat sushi all the time, when I was health conscious but not informed about true nutrition… I think most people think of commercial sushi as a health food but sadly it’s not. I was devastated to find out all the junk they put in it, but once I realised I could make healthy and tastier sushi myself I didn’t mind at all 🙂 x

  6. Lisa this is amazing! You can bet that I will be making this 🙂 In fact – I already have it pinned 😉

  7. Pingback: Loveable Pumpkin Chickpea’s | The Raw Serenity

  8. Pingback: Get Your Pumpkin Spice Fix With These Tasty Options | The Scratch

Leave a Reply

