Brain Food – Soulful Pudding

 

After my last post I now think it is an appropriate time to introduce you to something close to my heart and I have 100% confidence that it will change your life.

If you have read my journey you would be aware that I believe food can act as medicine and people often neglect this most important factor of health and wellbeing.

Most people focus on the physical benefits of food such as low fat, high protein, low carb, no sugar etc and although some of these factors can be healthy (and others damn right dangerous) we aren’t supporting the one thing that has control over bodies: the mind!

Feeding the mind should be our first priority. When we feed our mind we are in a healthy and thoughtful state to be able to make conscious choices that support our overall wellbeing.

There are many foods that are great “brain fuel” but today I want to stress the importance of Omega-3.

There have been several studies that support omega-3 consumption to help fight mood disorders such as depression.Omega-3 influences the production of “neurotrophic factors” which regulate brain cells and can affect gene expression in the brain.

Most people think of fish when they hear Omega 3 and aren’t aware that there are healthier ways to include these important essential fatty acids in their diet.

Some fish contain high levels of methyl-mercury which can lead to ingestion of acceptably high levels of contaminants in large amounts, so you aren’t necessarily doing yourself the world of good by swallowing those pricey fish oil tablets.

Fish contain omega-3 because they eat sea vegetables which include seaweed and algae such as Spirulina. Spirulina is the richest source of nutrients of all foods and also just to put in a fun fact, it is the most protein dense food there is worldwide!

Although many aren’t too happy about jumping into the spirulina (just yet) there is another delicious source that will bring you many benefits other than the satisfying taste: Chia seeds.

Chia seeds are rich in omega-3 and just 25 grams per day is enough to receive the right amount of omega-3 to have a healthy mind and body. These little beauties are also high in protein, calcium, fibre, iron and other vitamins and minerals that chia seeds have to offer, hence why they are called a superfood.

Chia seeds expand 11 times their size when soaked in liquid for as little as 20 minutes. These super seeds also make a perfect pudding so I’m excited to share with you my favourite pudding;

Soulful Pudding

Ingredients:
Serves 1

2 Tbsp Chia seeds (I use white)

2/3 cup almond milk (unsweetened)

1 medium size frozen banana (slightly defrosted)

1.5-2 Tbsp raw cacao

3 raspberries (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Blend Banana , milk and cacao together and pour into a bowl
  2. Add chia seeds and stir into the mix
  3. Set aside for 30 mins, stirring occasionally
  4. Enjoy!

This is the easiest, most delicious and nutritious pudding there is. I am loving dessert and I bet you will too when you try it.

7 Comments

Filed under Health, Raw, Recipes

7 responses to “Brain Food – Soulful Pudding

  1. Great post Lisa! Adding frozen banana is such a good idea, I’m going to try it when I’ve finished my juice feast 🙂 x

  2. I love the look of the pudding, yum! Chia puddings are the best!

  3. I love the idea of food being medicine and helping not just physical ailments but mental as well. Something my nutritionist taught me when I first entered recovery was viewing food as medicine to heal my hurt, weak body. However the idea of using it to heal my mind as well is an amazing thing.

    • It is something I feel so strongly about because I have tried EVERY treatment around and this is the most effective and safe way to recover. The mind has so much control over your body’s health and ability to heal so it deserves to be the number one priority and also because brain food is yummy and sexy; hello chia pudding and avocado!!

  4. Yum! I have an ongoing love affair with sexy chia in all its forms, particularly puddings!
    Food as medicine rocks x

Leave a Reply

