Finding Serenity in My Sundays

There are many ways to feel inspired. My biggest source of inspiration is dogs.
Whenever I’m in a funky mood or feel stressed, I go to the park and watch all the dogs.

Although it may seem strange that dogs inspire me more than anything else, I have learnt a lot from watching them, and here’s how:

Self Satisfaction
Dogs never worry about their appearance or compare themselves to other dogs.
They are grateful and satisfied with their looks. They believe that every part of them is beautiful.
They will spread their legs, poo and wee in front of others, get grey hair, put on weight and the way they see themselves never changes.
Now I’m not suggesting that you use the side walk as a toilet (that would be illegal) but we shouldn’t feel embarrassed or insecure about how we were made.

 

 Equality
No matter what size, sexuality, colour, height, social status, religion or how much money you have, dogs will treat everyone equally. Everyone has their own unique body, preferences, opinions, style and lifestyle choices. Being different doesn’t make someone better or worse than others because they don’t follow a certain expectation or trend.

Love & forgiveness
Dogs are known for their unconditional love. It’s truly inspiring and heart warming. Not only are they experts for providing love, they have also mastered forgiveness. When I go anywhere without my dog, he gets extremely grumpy and annoyed with me. As soon as I come in the door, all is forgotten and I am smothered with love and kisses.

Healthy Living
Dogs are very in tune with their bodies needs.
When dogs are sick, they don’t rely on antibiotics to feel better, they use natural resources. Dogs will feed on grass, drink plenty of water and have plenty of rest.

Play
As we get older , playing become non-existent. We forget to set aside time to let loose, have fun and play. Having fun and is extremely important for our health. Dogs play right up to a very old age. This is something we should all be doing, regardless of how old or busy we are. We need to make time.

My dog (cosmo) came into my life when I was very sick. My parents said it would teach me that you have to eat in order to grow strong and healthy, just like a puppy. He has taught me so much more.

Do you have a dog? If so what have they taught you?

5 Comments

Filed under Body Image, Serenity

5 responses to “Finding Serenity in My Sundays

  1. we have two dogs and two cats. The lessons each one of them teach us are great 🙂

  2. Dogs are amazing! We do not have one but my parents have some and we go over and enjoy them! ❤

  3. These are all beautiful lessons. My schnautzers have taught me the same. Dogs are amazing!
    How old is cosmo? So adorable! x

  4. I just came across your blog and looking through some of your posts… and just had to comment how funny that you have 2 dogs, the same in which I had! First, we had a scottish terrier and after him, a west highland terrier. We were really original w/ their names, Scottie & Westie, haha.

Leave a Reply

