Is It Necessary To Tell People Your Vegan?

When I was at the gym earlier this week doing tricep dips, my arms started to shake. I don’t usually shake so I sat up feeling a little defeated. The guy next to me said “You know what you need? Red meat. Loads of protein  to make you stronger”.

I instantly felt annoyed. Not because he didn’t read my mind to know I was vegan, but because of the protein obsession that marketers have created.

I then didn’t know how to react. How soon or necessary is it to tell people about your diet and lifestyle choices?

I ended up explaining to him why red meat is not my thing and that I eat plenty of protein (thank you very much!) via spirulina, nuts, legumes, beans, quiona, oats… the list goes on.

The confusion on his face was worth it, but I did wonder how necessary it is to tell people about the lifestyle choices we make.

Image if I arrived at a date’s house (without knowing him well) to find he has spent hours cooking a lamb roast and for me, only not to be able to eat it.

If I were in that situation should I take Kate Hudson’s advice in How to lose a guy in 10 days? Cry and tell him it’s beautiful but I just can’t eat meat? With soft sobs I would murmur “Mary had a little lamb, little lamb, little lamb”.

What if work colleagues were to surprise me with a birthday cake that wasn’t vegan. Surely they would feel disappointed.

When topics are related to nutrition, I find it easy to slip in our dietary choices, but meeting new friends and colleagues, nutrition isn’t something everyone is fascinated with, so it isn’t always talked about.

I did, however, have a work colleague ask me if I’d like some meat balls that she brought in. “I said no thanks, I’m vegan”. I pondered afterwards over if I really needed to say that. Perhaps in those situations I could have just said “No thank you, I don’t eat meat” or even just “No thank you”.

I personally think that it’s important for people to know your diet and lifestyle choices. Not only are our diet and lifestyle choices a big part of who we are, but it also helps others.

I have been in the situation where I have cooked a beautiful cake for a friend’s birthday then found out she was gluten intolerant.

We often eat together and although she never orders any bread or pasta, I didn’t assume she wasn’t eating these foods because she has an intolerance.

My friend said that the subject never came up and didn’t feel the need to tell everyone.

I have to agree with her on this. But it would have saved me the embarrassment of turning up with a gift she couldn’t accept.

I think that it is necessary for people to know your diet and lifestyle choices; it’s a part of who you are and it says so much about you.

The question is: How necessary and soon is it to tell people about your diet and lifestyle choices?

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this in the comment box below.

2 Comments

Filed under Social Pressure

2 responses to “Is It Necessary To Tell People Your Vegan?

  1. Being vegan is so fun and easy when you’re cooking for yourself but in social situations it really is awkward, especially going over to peoples houses for dinner; many people feel daunted enough having to make a vegetarian meal and when you throw in the vegan thing it really throws them for a loop. I’m still trying to discover the best way around this…bring your own? Eat before? Hope for at least a salad or a side of veggies?? Ps what a twat that guy at the gym was.

Leave a Reply

