Asian Inspired Cos Cups

I have noticed that the only vegan Asian dish I have cooked is sushi. That’s it!
Sad I know, but that is all about to change.

Other than the basic stir-fry, I’m not very familar with vegan Asian meals.

The reason I haven’t cooked many Asian meals is because of the pressure I once put on myself. I am a bit of a perfectionist, and not having the experience with certain techniques and exotic ingredients, I haven’t been confident enough to try making them.

There are many flavoursome salads and cooked meals waiting for me to make, and practice makes perfect so I am going to start veganising popular Asian favourites.

I created this recipe that was inspired from san choy bow.
I used ingredients that I already on hand and would be somewhat similar to the recipe I once used before I was vegan.

I tweaked this dish from the first time I made it and now it’s spot on!

The flavours complement each other beautifully and it only took me 20 mins to make.

This is a perfect entree or as it turned out for me, a main meal. I couldn’t stop at two cups so I had 5 cups for dinner.

Addictive – you have been warned.

 

Ingredients

( Roughly makes 10 cups – serves 2-3 )

150g organic tempeh

1 cup sliced button mushrooms

1/3 red capsicum

5 bok choy stalks

Cos lettuce leaves

2 Tbsp low sodium tamari sauce

1 Tbsp balsamic vinegar

1/8 Tsp grated ginger

Directions

  1. Peel mushrooms and wash all vegetables
  2. Finely cut mushrooms, capsicum and tempeh in small cubes roughly the same size
  3. Finely slice bok choy horizontally
  4. Place all sliced vegetables and tempeh into a mixing bowl
  5. Mix tamari, balsamic vinegar and ginger in a small cup and poor over the vegetables and tempeh
  6. Transfer mixture into a non stick fry pan and cook until mushrooms and bok choy and soft
  7. Serve into cos lettuce leaves

I’d love to know your favourite Asian dish!

Be kind to yourself,

Lisa x

1 Comment

Filed under Entree & Sides, Mains, Recipes

One response to “Asian Inspired Cos Cups

  1. Oh yum! My favorite is definitely sushi, either my raw version with cauli rice or made with quinoa/ brown rice x

Leave a Reply

