Ridiculously Healthy Banana Bread/Muffins

Hey lovelies,

Recently I have been a little quite here on The Raw Serenity and I do apologize for that.

I have been caught up in other commitments and I will admit I have neglected my “down time” which I now know is extremely important to prioritise!

Anyways on the positive side, I have tackled some serious obstacles of mine.

I have taken on some foods that I haven’t eaten in a very long time due to listening to the lies of my eating disorder and I have been trying to remove all of the bullshit brainwashing about certain foods and diets.

The media has been telling us for years that carbs put on weight. They have made us become frightened of eating any type of carbohydrate.

Just like fat, not all carbohydrates put on weight. We need a certain amount of carbohydrates daily in order for our bodies to function correctly.

More than any diet claims there is, the claim about fruit making people put on weight irritates me the most.

That irritates me just by mentioning it, so anyways the main point is ,I am not denying my body of certain foods anymore. Instead I am listening and fueling my body with a wide variety of healthy, whole foods from every food group.

Another claim that frustrates me is that vegan food can’t be delicious and also healthy whole foods can’t taste nearly as good as the processed, refined foods.

So to argue the point, I have created ridiculously delicious and nutritious banana bread /muffins!

They have:

  • No added sugar
  • Fat Free
  • Wholegrain
  • No artificial colours or flavours
  • No artificial sweeteners
  • Organic

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Organic Wholegrain Spelt Flour
  • 1 tsp baking Soda
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • ¾ tsp pink Himalayan salt (or regular sea salt)
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • 1/3 Almond milk (or milk of choice)
  • ½ cup date syrup* ( see recipe below)
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 1 ½ tsp organic vanilla extract
  • 2 cups over ripe mashed bananas ( roughly 5 medium bananas)
  • 1 tbsp stevia

Preheat oven to 180 degrees. Combine dry ingredients together in a bowl. Add wet ingredients into the bowl and mix in with a spoon or hands (don’t over mix).

Pour mixture into muffin liners or bread tin and bake for 20-25mins.

* I made my own date syrup by using two handfuls of dates into the food processer and slowly adding water until it resembled a syrup consistency

So I hate to tell you I told you so but really this recipe proves the point that healthy vegan baking is truly amazing for your health and your taste-buds.

What is one health claim that you are  often correcting for people?

Be kind to yourself,

Lisa

8 Comments

Filed under Health, Recipes, Snacks

8 responses to “Ridiculously Healthy Banana Bread/Muffins

  1. I looove recipes like this! My little guy loves muffins..and I’m always on the look out for a good wholesome recipe that doesn’t use eggs or dairy. Considering these use organic ungredients, have no added sugar, and are fat-free! You sold me 😀 thx for sharing! X

  2. YUMMO! The perfect travel snack!

  3. Those muffins look so yummy!! I am definitely going to try out this recipe! I am trying to get more excited about eating raw by trying new ideas. I think a common misperception is that our bodies need a lot of protein, which is not true. Yes our bodies need some protein, but not a lot. There is NO medical term for “protein deficiency” because it just doesn’t happen! Also, people think if you dont eat meat, you cant get enough protein, which is another misconception. Plants, nuts, grains, and tofu ALL have adequate amounts of protein & other nutrients!

  4. Lisa, these look perfect! I wish I had one in front of me right now! …because I’m on my couch, watching glee, and I really don’t want to move… 😉

  5. These muffins look delish! Happy week to you!

  6. Yummy! Great work on ditching the brain washing voice and going for all the delicious food groups in your eats xxx

Leave a Reply

